2024-05-23: Spotlight on the New Angular Interface for Evergreen Reports
Join us for a look at some of the features in the much-anticipated upgrade of the Advanced Reports interface. We will touch on user experience improvements in navigation and functionality, such as the ability to sort and filter on template search results and viewing all report definitions tied to a single template. We will also take a look at some changes in the implementation of more advanced features such as nullability. This spotlight is for both new and experienced users.
- Presenter: Lena Hernandez, Product and Education Specialist, Equinox Open Library Initiative
- May 5, 2024 @ 1PM - 2PM ET
- Register Here!
2024-06-20: Spotlight on CORAL User Interface and Accessibility Updates
Join us for a Spotlight on the new user interface (UI) and accessibility improvements for CORAL ERM! CORAL, an open source electronic resources management system, has been undergoing an intensive period of development work. In addition to the first major release since the beginning of the COVID pandemic, a second release is forthcoming with a new look. Much of this work has focused on modernizing the underlying infrastructure to create big improvements to the UI and overall accessibility of the software.
- Presenter: Stephanie Leary, Front End Developer, Equinox Open Library Initiative
- June 20, 2024 @ 12PM - 1PM EST
- Register Here!
Join Equinox to expand your open source education! We hold live webinars on a variety of topics related to open source technologies and new innovations and standards in libraries, archives, and museums.
- equinoxEDU: Spotlight events provide quick educational opportunities for library professionals. These one hour webinars are held monthly and provide overviews of topics related to open source software in libraries. Spotlight webinars are free and open to all!
- equinoxEDU: Tutorial events provide a chance for library professionals to take a comprehensive look at a particular component of their open-source software or to follow an Equinox Trainer on a deep dive into a particular theme.
- equinoxEDU: Workshop events provide an opportunity to gain in depth knowledge about a specific topic without the structure of a full training program. Work with an Equinox Trainer and your fellow equinoxEDU: Workshop attendees to learn a new skill today!
Please send any questions or inquiries to:
training-events@equinoxOLI.org
training-events@equinoxOLI.org
Equinox Open Library Initiative Inc. is a 501(c)3 corporation devoted to the support of open source software for public libraries, academic libraries, school libraries, and special libraries. As the successor to Equinox Software, Inc., Equinox provides exceptional service and technical expertise delivered by experienced librarians and technical staff. Equinox offers affordable, customized consulting services, software development, hosting, training, and technology support for libraries of all sizes and types.
To learn more, please visit https://www.equinoxOLI.org
2024-03-21: Spotlight on Creating Accessible Themes in Aspen Discovery
- Join us for an exploration of your Aspen Discovery layer as we look at creating accessible design choices when setting up your Themes. Whether your library is setting up Aspen for the first time, or you are interested in learning more about creating high contrast or dark mode theme options, this session is for you. We'll be digging into how Aspen Themes can be customized to make your library's catalog a better place for your staff and patrons.
2024-02-29: Spotlight on New Features in Evergreen 3.12
- Join us for an equinoxEDU: Spotlight on New Features in Evergreen! Celebrate Leap Day with a leap into the latest version of Evergreen! Version 3.12 made its debut in December 2023, and includes great new features like a new added content tab in the staff catalog and several upgraded interfaces. Version 3.12 was also important in terms of community process, as it involved many newer committers and release team members. We're proud to have grown the community and even prouder these people were willing to leap in to the build process!
2023-12-14: Spotlight on Aspen Discovery Web Builder
- Join us for a Spotlight on the Web Builder module in Aspen Discovery! Come learn about the types of content you can create within Aspen, including custom web pages to promote library resources, forms to collect feedback and information from the community, and other informational pages, such as a staff directory.
2023-11-16: Tutorial on Batch Loading Records in Evergreen
- Join us for a Tutorial on Batch Loading MARC Records in Evergreen! This webinar will provide a deep dive into the MARC Batch Import tool in Evergreen. Topics will include the configuration of import profiles, such as merge profiles, holdings import profiles, and record match sets. Various workflows will also be covered, including importing and overlaying bibliographic records, holdings records, and the options for importing and overlaying acquisitions records and items. Come join us to learn all about importing records in Evergreen.
- Presenter: Jennifer Weston, Product and Education Manager
2023-09-20: Tutorial on the Evergreen Booking Module
- Join us for a Tutorial on the Booking Module in Evergreen! Does your library allow patrons to reserve scheduled time to use rooms, equipment, or other materials? Evergreen’s Booking module allows staff to easily create and track reservations for bookable resources at the library. Come learn how to create bookable materials and manage the reservation process in Evergreen!
- Presenter: Lena Hernandez, Equinox Product and Education Specialist
2023-07-27:
Tutorial on Patron Account Management in Evergreen
- Join us for an equinoxEDU: Tutorial on Patron Account Management in Evergreen! This live webinar will focus on creating and managing patron accounts in the Evergreen ILS. Topics will include in depth review of the patron registration form and patron account, including configuration options and functionality. Come learn more about managing and optimizing patron accounts in Evergreen!
- Presenter: Lena Hernandez, Equinox Product and Education Specialist
2023-07-20:
Spotlight on New Features in Evergreen 3.10 and 3.11
- Join us for an equinoxEDU: Spotlight on New Features in Evergreen! In this live webinar we will highlight some of the newest features in versions 3.10 and 3.11 of Evergreen. Whether you are new to using Evergreen or an experienced user – come learn about what is new in Evergreen!
2023-05-18: Spotlight on Aspen Discovery
- Join us for an encore of the equinoxEDU: Spotlight on Aspen Discovery! This webinar will highlight how this flexible and dynamic open source discovery layer can introduce new ways for library users to interact with your library's resources. See how libraries new to Aspen are using discovery tools to promote materials and to improve the library user experience.
2023-04-12: Spotlight on Aspen Discovery
- Join us for an equinoxEDU: Spotlight on Aspen Discovery! This webinar will highlight how this flexible and dynamic open source discovery layer can introduce new ways for library users to interact with your library's resources. See how libraries new to Aspen are using discovery tools to promote materials and to improve the library user experience.
2023-03-30:
Spotlight on Accessibility in Open Source Projects
- This webinar dives into accessibility considerations for library software. We will explore the different kinds of assistive technologies and devices used by people with visual, hearing, mobility, speech, and cognitive disabilities. We will also review the current state of legislation related to accessible web interfaces and discuss how our approach to user interface design is changing to accommodate a broader spectrum of specialized needs.
2023-02-16:
Spotlight on 2023 Evergreen Development Projects
- Equinox and our development partners have been working on a lot of exciting Evergreen projects lately! Several new features, accessibility improvements, and revamped interfaces are all on the schedule for 2023. Please join us as we preview some of what our developers are working on for future releases.
2022-11-16: Spotlight on Open Source Thanksgiving
- Join us for Open Source Thanksgiving! At Equinox, we're on a mission to provide open source software for libraries of all types all over the world and we want to take time to give thanks for open source communities! In this live webinar, we highlight some of our favorite open source products with discussion about how they serve libraries. Open source products we support include Evergreen, Koha, Fulfillment ILL, SubjectsPlus, CORAL Electronic Resource Management, VuFind Discovery, and Aspen Discovery. Join us as we take a peek at each of these products and celebrate recent accomplishments in each of the open source communities.
2022-08-31: Spotlight on Evergreen 3.9
- Join us as we highlight some of the newest features in version 3.9 of Evergreen. Topics will include a look at the new Simple Reports interface, a new cover image uploader, and customizable options for the staff portal page.
- Presenter: Jennifer Weston, Product and Education Specialist
- Evergreen 3.9 New Features Subject Guide
- Slides
- Recording
2022-06-01: Spotlight on VuFind Updates - Join us for a discussion about recent updates to VuFind! In this live webinar, we will present an overview of the VuFind discovery interface. We'll look at enhancements made to VuFind and how your library can enhance discovery services for your patrons. This session is suitable for anyone interested in learning more about using VuFind.
- VuFind is a user-friendly, customizable, open source discovery layer designed to serve as a replacement for the traditional OPAC by providing faster search functionality while searching and browsing all of a library’s collection, including print and digital collections.
2022-04-27: Spotlight on Going Fine Free
- Join us for a discussion on Going Gine Free in your library! In this live webinar, we will present a series of considerations for any library contemplating a move to becoming a fine free library. We will explore what is involved in implementing a systematic shift to becoming fine free – either permanently or on a trial basis. Without focusing on any specific ILS, we will offer suggestions for data review, requirement definitions, roll-out procedures, and the importance of identifying potential exemptions to the application of a new fine free policy.
2022-03-30: Spotlight on VuFind Development - Join us for an introduction to VuFind and a discussion of recent updates to the connection between VuFind and the Evergreen ILS! In this live webinar, we will present VuFind as a front end for the Evergreen ILS and discuss recent updates made to the VuFind Evergreen ILS Driver by Equinox Open Library Initiative. We’ll look at the implications for the VuFind driver on Evergreen’s approach to managing access to sensitive patron information. This session is suitable for anyone interested in learning more about using VuFind with Evergreen.
- VuFind is a user-friendly, customizable, open source discovery layer designed to serve as a replacement for the traditional OPAC by providing faster search functionality while searching and browsing all of a library’s collection, including print and digital collections.
2022-03-17: Workshop on Evergreen Reports (Basic)
- Join us for a live online workshop where we will introduce the basics of working in the Reports module in the Evergreen ILS. We will begin with basic information about how Evergreen works as a database, how information is stored, and what goes into making reports. During the session, we will work together to run, clone, and modify existing templates. Workshops on more advanced reporting will be offered later this year.
- Note: Space in this Workshop is limited to 30 attendees.
- Instructor: Jennifer Weston, Product and Education Specialist
- Session Length: 2 hours
2022-02-23: Spotlight on Evergreen 3.8
- Join us as we highlight some of the newest features in version 3.8 of Evergreen. On-demand materials will be provided in advance for early review and you will have the opportunity to submit questions to the presenter prior to the live webinar. Topics will include a look at the rewrite of the Acquisitions Administration Interfaces, updates to the Holdings Maintenance & Item Attributes Editor, and Consolidated Patron Notes, Alerts, and Messages.
- Presenter: Jennifer Weston, Product and Education Specialist
- Evergreen New Features Subject Guide (includes 3.7 and 3.8)
- Slides
- Recording
2022-01-26: Spotlight on Fulfillment
- Take ownership of your ILL software! Join us for an introduction to Fulfillment, a fully open source union catalog and resource sharing system. Fulfillment is a modern resource sharing platform that supports the needs of public and academic library consortia, providing intuitive workflows and powerful reporting. This live webinar will provide an overview of the ILL workflow in Fulfillment, as well as a discussion of configuration options.
- Presenters: Andrea Buntz Neiman, Project Manager for Software Development, Equinox Open Library Initiative and Amy Terlaga, Director of Member Services, Bibliomation, Inc.
2021-12-09: Workshop on Evergreen Reports(Beyond the Basics!)
- Join us for an equinoxEDU: Workshop session on Evergreen Reports - Beyond the Basics! In this live online workshop, we move beyond the basics of working in the Reports module to expand into more advanced reporting examples and suggestions for customizing your Evergreen reports to help you create a solid reporting structure for achieving successful results. We will also offer guidance on how to avoid pitfalls and incomplete results in reporting. Attendees should have some experience using the Evergreen Reports module to run and clone reports. This session will be recorded and made available to attendees.
- Note: Space in this Workshop is limited to 25 attendees.
- Instructors: Jennifer Weston and Felicia Beaudry, Product and Education Specialists
- Session Length: 2 hours
2021-11-10: Workshop on Evergreen Reports (Basic)
- Join us for an equinoxEDU: Workshop session on Evergreen Reports! In this live online workshop, we will introduce the basics of working in the Reports module in the Evergreen ILS and facilitate a learning experience with ample opportunity for active participation. We will begin with basic information about how Evergreen works as a database, how information is stored, and what goes into making reports. During the session, we will work together to run, clone, and modify existing templates. A workshop on more advanced reporting will be offered in December 2021.
- Note: Space in this Workshop is limited to 25 attendees.
- Instructors: Jennifer Weston and Felicia Beaudry, Product and Education Specialists
- Session Length: 2 hours
2021-10-27: Spotlight on Evergreen 3.7
- Join us as we will highlight some of the newest features in version 3.7 of Evergreen and updates from recent releases. On-demand materials will be provided in advance for early review and you will have the opportunity to submit questions to the presenter prior to the live webinar. Topics will include a look at Library Groups, Hold Groups, Patron Hold Notification options, and the new "Did You Mean?" Single Word Search Suggestions functionality.
- Presenter: Jennifer Weston, Product and Education Specialist
- Evergreen 3.7 New Features Subject Guide
- Slides
- Recording (Oct 27 session)
- Recording (Oct 28 session)
2021-09-29: Spotlight on Customer Engagement
with Patron Point
- Join us to learn how Patron Point can help your library engage your patrons. Patron Point offers a full marketing pathway for your library, from signing up and onboarding new patrons, to using data to segment your audience, and tips for how to educate them about everything your library has to offer. Also, come learn about Equinox’s plans to provide libraries with a seamless experience via API integration with Patron Point and other third party services.
- Ian Downie, Vice President, Growth, Patron Point
- Andrea Buntz Neiman, Project Manager for Software Development, EOLI
- Slides: Evergreen Data & Patron Point (Neiman)
- FAQs
- Recording
2021-08-25: Spotlight on CORAL ERM
- Say goodbye to your spreadsheets and hello to an open source solution for managing electronic resources! Join us to learn how CORAL ERM can help your library manage electronic resource subscriptions and purchases. This webinar will provide an overview of CORAL's modules for managing electronic resources, acquisitions, licensing, vendors, and reporting. CORAL is a great tool for libraries of all types to manage the increasing complexities of electronic resources.
- Presenter: Angela Kilsdonk, Product and Education Manager
2021-07-28: Spotlight on Fulfillment
- Take ownership of your ILL software! Join us for an introduction to Fulfillment, a fully open source ILL system, which can be used alongside or in connection with any integrated library system. Fulfillment is a modern resource sharing platform that supports the needs of public and academic library consortia. This webinar will provide an overview of the ILL workflow in Fulfillment, as well as a discussion of configuration options.
- Presenter: Andrea Buntz Neiman, Project Manager for Software Development
2021-06-30: Spotlight on SubjectsPlus
- Join us to learn about SubjectsPlus, an open source content management system that provides a user-friendly interface for managing your library's web presence. No coding skills needed! This webinar will provide an overview of how SubjectsPlus can be used to create modern web pages for libraries to promote library resources, create unlimited topic and subject guides, and organize video content. Also learn how Equinox offers SubjectsPlus as a hosted solution, providing hosting, installation, and IT services to help libraries implement SubjectsPlus.
- Presenter: Felicia Beaudry, Product and Education Specialist
2021-05-19: Spotlight on the Koha Housebound Module
- Join us to learn about the Housebound module in Koha. The Housebound module helps facilitate home delivery services to provide accessible library services to your patrons. This webinar will provide an overview of how to configure the Housebound module, including how to manage deliverers and selectors for home delivery materials.
- Presenter: Felicia Beaudry, Product and Education Specialist
2021-04-28: Spotlight on the Evergreen Booking Module
- Join us for an introduction to the Booking module in Evergreen! The Booking module facilitates reservations for library resources such as meeting rooms, equipment, and cataloged materials. This webinar will provide an overview of how to configure the Booking module for use and will walk through workflow examples. Both interface and functionality enhancements have been added to the module recently—join us to see Booking in Evergreen!
- Presenter: Angela Kilsdonk, Product and Education Manager
2021-03-31: Spotlight on Koha 20.11
- Join us for an equinoxEDU: Spotlight session on new features in the Koha ILS! In this live webinar we will highlight some of the newest features and enhancements to Koha's Cataloging, Circulation, Acquisitions, and Course Reserves modules.
- Presenter: Felicia Beaudry, Product and Education Specialist
2021-02-24: Spotlight on Evergreen 3.6
- This webinar covers new features in Evergreen 3.6 including the new staff catalog, the new Course Reserves feature, and how to identify and manage unfillable holds.
- Presenter: Angela Kilsdonk, Product and Education Manager
Please send any questions or inquiries to:
training-events@equinoxOLI.org.
training-events@equinoxOLI.org.
Equinox Open Library Initiative provides innovative open source software for libraries of all types and delivers extraordinary service at exceptional value. Equinox builds upon more than a decade of trusted service and technical expertise, providing consulting services, software development, hosting, training, and support for Evergreen ILS, Koha ILS, and other open source library software.
To learn more, please visit https://www.equinoxOLI.org
To learn more, please visit https://www.equinoxOLI.org