Evergreen New Feature Review Guide (3.9)

Evergreen 3.9 was released in April 2022. New features and enhancements from the Evergreen 3.9 release are listed below. Descriptions are provided for each of the components featured in the 3.9 release notes grouped together by Evergreen module. Links to individual handouts will be provided for several of the features after the initial equinoxEDU: Spotlight session to offer more detail and supplemental documentation.  
 
3.9 Highlights include:

• Localized Templates for Action Triggers (can be used for notices in multiple languages)
• Custom Cover Image Uploader
• Customizable Staff Portal
• Simple Reports

Localized Templates Available for Action Triggers 
(Documentation | Release Notes)
Sponsor:  Linn-Benton Community College | Developer: Rogan Hamby, EOLI
Alternate templates can now be utilized to generate local specific output for Action Triggers. The template, message, and message title can all be localized. (Example: Notices in multiple languages based upon patron preferred language)  The related staff interface is: Administration > Local Administration > Notifications/Action Triggers

Note:  This new development also covers the rewrite of the Notifications/Action Triggers interface for the Angular Platform. Expect changes to display and improved navigation.

Custom Cover Image Uploader
(Documentation | Release Notes)
Sponsor:  Evergreen Indiana | Developer: Jason Etheridge, EOLI
New staff interface to allow staff with appropriate permissions to upload a custom jacket/cover image for a given bibliographic record for display in the staff client and OPAC. The new interface is: Bibliographic Record detail > Other Actions > Upload Cover Image

Copy Inventory Date Improvements
(Release Notes)
Sponsor:  NOBLE | Developer: Jason Stephenson, CW MARS
Latest release fixes two bugs with copy inventory dates related to duplicate entries and non-owned items. New development includes preliminary improvements for future expansion. The addition of a new database table will make it easier to add new fields and to track inventory updates of a given copy over time.  The interface options to add/update copy inventory dates will remain the same.

Customizable Staff Portal
(Documentation | Release Notes)
Sponsor:  Pioneer Library System | Developer: Galen Charlton, EOLI
A new Local Administration interface can now be used by staff with appropriate permissions to customize the staff portal / staff home page. Authorized users will be able to specify groups of Evergreen menu links, external links, catalog search widgets, and free text to display on the staff home page. The new interface is Administration > Location Administration > Staff Portal Page

OAI-PMH Data Provider Support
(Documentation | Release Notes)
Developers: Mike Rylander and Galen Charlton, EOLI -- finalizing work of many contributors 
Evergreen can now act as an OAI-PMH data provider, exposing the catalog to harvesting through the (OAI2 protocol) to provide access to other information systems including group repositories, discovery layers, and MARCEdit. Two entry points: one for bibliographic records and one for authority records.

OAI-PMH definition: The Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting is a mechanism for interoperability among networked information systems. 

jQuery OPAC Library Setting
(Release Notes)
Developer: Rogan Hamby, EOLI
New setting allows OPACs to run jQuery without customizing server side templates

Simple Reports
(Documentation | Release Notes)
Sponsor:  CW MARS and Missouri Evergreen | Developer: Jason Boyer, EOLI
New interface is intended to provide an alternate way for authorized users to create and run simple reports in Evergreen but is not intended to replace the main Reports interface. The new interface is found on the Administration menu > Simple Reports

Adding Captured Hold Phone Notification Number
(Release Notes)
Developer: Blake Graham-Henderson, MOBIUS
For Evergreen systems that work with third party telephony systems to phone users when a SIP checkin captures an item on hold, this new feature creates a secure response to send patron information when requests are received in a non-standard method.

Various Enhancements
(Release Notes)
A list of various improvements and other enhancements included in the 3.9 release is provided at the end of the release notes with links to corresponding launchpad bugs. Highlights of some of miscellaneous updates are included on the checklist found in this guide. 

To assist with planning for an upgrade, lists are provided to offer a summary of the new features included in each release and the default nature of their availability. Many features in new releases are optional. Some are enabled by the addition of new staff permission groups or new library settings. Notes are provided here to indicate whether a new feature is enabled by default and to identify associated configuration details. 

PDF version of the consolidated checklists for printing:  3.9 Checklist

Module	Feature	Default Availability
Administration	Localized Templates Available for Action Triggers	Available after upgrade for optional utilization
Administration	Notifications/Action Triggers Interface ported to Angular	Rewritten interface ready for use
Cataloging	Custom Cover Image Uploader	Requires adjustments by System Administrator during upgrade; once configured, utilizes new permission and new library setting
Circulation	Copy Inventory Date Improvements	Available after upgrade - (scripts will make database changes)
Client	Customizable Staff Portal	Available after upgrade - (scripts will make database changes); utilizes new permission
OAI2	OAI-PMH Data Provider Support	Not enabled by default; requires adjustments by System Administrator
OPAC	jQuery OPAC Library Setting	Not enabled by default; requires adjustments by System Administrator
Reports	Simple Reports	Available after upgrade with new permission
SIP	Adding Captured Hold Phone Notification Number	Not enabled by default; requires adjustments by System Administrator

Module	Feature	Default Availability
Administration	Local Administration > Shelving Location Order Editor interface ported to Angular	Rewritten interface ready for use
Administration	Carousel: New widget to share a carousel on an external site	Check with your System Administrator; see lp bug #1882982 for sample code for embedding on a web site
Administration	Carousel: API call to retrieve and share carousel contents	Check with your System Administrator
Catalog	Improvements to Angular grid Copy to Clipboard dialog	Available after upgrade
Circulation	Print Templates: Add patron record juvenile flag as an option for checkout and items out print templates	Available after upgrade for optional utilization