Evergreen 3.10 was released in November 2022. New features and enhancements from the Evergreen 3.10 release are listed below. Descriptions are provided for the highlighted components and they are grouped together by Evergreen module. Links to supplemental documentation and individual handouts are also provided. See more details in the full 3.10 release notes.
If your library is upgrading and missed an earlier release, please see the links on the right to previous releases notes, New Feature Release Guides, and equinoxEDU: Spotlight sessions for the last few versions of Evergreen.
3.10 Highlights include:
If your library is upgrading and missed an earlier release, please see the links on the right to previous releases notes, New Feature Release Guides, and equinoxEDU: Spotlight sessions for the last few versions of Evergreen.
The Evergreen 3.10 Detailed Summary Grid serves as a dashboard listing descriptions and components of each new feature all in one convenient view. The grid includes notes on new permissions and settings associated with the features included in this release.
3.10 Highlights include:
- Additional Angularization of Acquisitions Interfaces
- Support for Advanced Shipment Notices in Acquisitions
- OpenAthens Integration
- Various Administration module enhancements
- Experimental Angular Circulation Interface
- Various Circulation module enhancements
Additional Angularization of Acquisitions Interfaces
(Documentation | Release Notes)
Sponsor: ECDI | Developer: Equinox -- includes work from Bill Erickson (KCLS) and Tiffany Little (PINES)
The Acquisitions interfaces rewritten in Angular as part of the latest development include: Purchase Orders, Selections Lists, Line Item Details, and MARC Order Records. Additional functionality is added to sort and filter both Purchase Orders and Selection Lists. This release also fixes a few Acquisitions-related bugs and accessibility issues.
Note: Structural changes include the addition of three new library settings. One setting will allow for continued staff access to the previous view of Purchase Orders. The other two new library settings are related to ownership of automatically created items.
Acquisitions Fund Management
(Release Notes)
Developer: Tiffany Little (PINES)
New functionality provides added control of staff access to the fund rollover function separate from the current permissions allowing general management of funds. A new permission (ADMIN_FUND_ROLLOVER) can be used to lock down access to which staff members can perform the rollover function.
Acquisitions Display Changes
Along with the display changes resulting from porting the Acquisitions interfaces to Angular, you may notice a few additional improvements to the screens for the Acquisitions General Search grid and the Acquisitions Administration Claiming interface.
(Documentation | Release Notes)
Sponsor: ECDI | Developer: Equinox -- includes work from Bill Erickson (KCLS) and Tiffany Little (PINES)
The Acquisitions interfaces rewritten in Angular as part of the latest development include: Purchase Orders, Selections Lists, Line Item Details, and MARC Order Records. Additional functionality is added to sort and filter both Purchase Orders and Selection Lists. This release also fixes a few Acquisitions-related bugs and accessibility issues.
Note: Structural changes include the addition of three new library settings. One setting will allow for continued staff access to the previous view of Purchase Orders. The other two new library settings are related to ownership of automatically created items.
Acquisitions Fund Management
(Release Notes)
Developer: Tiffany Little (PINES)
New functionality provides added control of staff access to the fund rollover function separate from the current permissions allowing general management of funds. A new permission (ADMIN_FUND_ROLLOVER) can be used to lock down access to which staff members can perform the rollover function.
Acquisitions Display Changes
Along with the display changes resulting from porting the Acquisitions interfaces to Angular, you may notice a few additional improvements to the screens for the Acquisitions General Search grid and the Acquisitions Administration Claiming interface.
Support for Advanced Shipment Notices in Acquisitions
(Specifications Documentation | Release Notes)
Sponsor: King County Library System | Developer: Bill Erickson
New optional functionality accomodates vendor Advanced Shipment Notices (ASN) via Dispatch Advice Messages (DESADV). Evergreen supports retrieval of DESADV EDI messages created by vendors when they pack and ship items with detailed information about PO and line item level lists. A superbarcode is assigned to each box. Staff can scan a package-level barcode to retrieve information on every item in the package, including an option to auto-receive every item.
(Specifications Documentation | Release Notes)
Sponsor: King County Library System | Developer: Bill Erickson
New optional functionality accomodates vendor Advanced Shipment Notices (ASN) via Dispatch Advice Messages (DESADV). Evergreen supports retrieval of DESADV EDI messages created by vendors when they pack and ship items with detailed information about PO and line item level lists. A superbarcode is assigned to each box. Staff can scan a package-level barcode to retrieve information on every item in the package, including an option to auto-receive every item.
Evergreen offers OpenAthens Single Sign-On
(Release Notes)
Sponsor: PINES | Developer: Julian Clementson
Evergreen can be configured to seamlessly sign patrons in to OpenAthens using their Evergreen account. Configuration steps include managing the connection with an OpenAthens administrator account, generating an API key, and various Evergreen administrative tasks. See documentation for details for Configuring Sign-on to OpenAthens.
(Release Notes)
Sponsor: PINES | Developer: Julian Clementson
Evergreen can be configured to seamlessly sign patrons in to OpenAthens using their Evergreen account. Configuration steps include managing the connection with an OpenAthens administrator account, generating an API key, and various Evergreen administrative tasks. See documentation for details for Configuring Sign-on to OpenAthens.
Administration Enhancements
(Release Notes)
In addition to new features, the 3.10 release includes multiple enhancements to functionality found in the Server Administration and Local Administration interfaces. A few of the enhancements are listed here. The 3.10 Upgrade Defaults checklist provides notes on the changes that are available immediately after upgrade and those that require additional configuration.
(Release Notes)
In addition to new features, the 3.10 release includes multiple enhancements to functionality found in the Server Administration and Local Administration interfaces. A few of the enhancements are listed here. The 3.10 Upgrade Defaults checklist provides notes on the changes that are available immediately after upgrade and those that require additional configuration.
- Geosort feature can use Bing Maps API
- Hours of Operation Note field for indicating split operating hours at a library
- Allow Patrons to Renew after Hitting the Max Fine Limit
- Remove "Staff Catalog (Traditional)" menu
- Display Full Library Name instead of short policy name in Org Unit Selector in the web client
- Admin Interfaces ported to Angular: Cash Reports, Library Settings, and Field Documentation
Experimental Angular Circulation Interfaces
(Release Notes)
Sponsor: King County Library System | Developer: Bill Erickson
This Evergreen release includes new, experimental versions of many circulation interfaces. The new Circulation (Experimental) menu is not enabled by default but can be accessed by adjusting a new library setting and assigning a new staff permission. This large Angular project is ultimately intended to cover patron search, checkout, items out, holds, bills, messages, edit, etc. See Launchpad#1904036 for details of the work done and testing completed as of the 3.10 release.
Important! These interfaces are experimental, and should not be used for production work. The optional access is being provided to garner additional testing and results from the community.
(Release Notes)
Sponsor: King County Library System | Developer: Bill Erickson
This Evergreen release includes new, experimental versions of many circulation interfaces. The new Circulation (Experimental) menu is not enabled by default but can be accessed by adjusting a new library setting and assigning a new staff permission. This large Angular project is ultimately intended to cover patron search, checkout, items out, holds, bills, messages, edit, etc. See Launchpad#1904036 for details of the work done and testing completed as of the 3.10 release.
Important! These interfaces are experimental, and should not be used for production work. The optional access is being provided to garner additional testing and results from the community.
Circulation Enhancements
(Release Notes)
Additional enhancements to the Circulation module and related functionality are noted in the 3.10 release notes. A few of the enhancements are listed here. See the full release notes and the supplemental documentation provided in this guide for more details.
(Release Notes)
Additional enhancements to the Circulation module and related functionality are noted in the 3.10 release notes. A few of the enhancements are listed here. See the full release notes and the supplemental documentation provided in this guide for more details.
- Patrons with Negative Balances interface has been re-implemented in Angular
- Renewal Due Date extension options added for circulation policies to cover lost time from an early renewal.
- Restores OPAC-visible Statistical Category functionality so patron and item stat cats may be displayed in the OPAC
Various Enhancements
(Release Notes)
A list of various improvements and other enhancements included in the 3.10 release is provided at the end of the release notes with links to corresponding launchpad bugs. Highlights of some of miscellaneous updates are included on the checklist found in this guide.
(Release Notes)
A list of various improvements and other enhancements included in the 3.10 release is provided at the end of the release notes with links to corresponding launchpad bugs. Highlights of some of miscellaneous updates are included on the checklist found in this guide.
- Evergreen New Feature Review Guide (3.9)
2022 release - Evergreen New Feature Review Guide (3.8)
2021 releases (includes Evergreen 3.7 & 3.8)
- equinoxEDU: Spotlight on Evergreen 3.12
Recording of Spotlight on Evergreen 3.12 webinar (with slides) - February 2024 - equinoxEDU: Spotlight on Evergreen 3.10 & 3.11
Recording of Spotlight on Evergreen 3.10 & 3.11 webinar (with slides) - July 2023 - equinoxEDU: Spotlight on Evergreen 3.9
Recording of Spotlight on Evergreen 3.9 webinar (with slides) - October 2022
- Evergreen ILS Official Documentation
Links to the latest offiical Evergreen ILS documentation, produced by the Documentation Interest Group of the Evergreen community. - Evergreen Tabular Release Notes
Tabular format of release notes with categorized updates by version - Evergreen 3.12 Full Release Notes
Official release notes for Evergreen 3.12 - Evergreen 3.11 Full Release Notes
Official release notes for Evergreen 3.11 - Evergreen 3.10 Full Release Notes
Official release notes for Evergreen 3.10 - Evergreen 3.9 Full Release Notes
Official release notes for Evergreen 3.9.
Contact Equinox about documentation and training opportunities via email at:
training-events@equinoxOLI.org.
training-events@equinoxOLI.org.
Equinox Open Library Initiative Inc. is a 501(c)3 corporation devoted to the support of open source software for public libraries, academic libraries, school libraries, and special libraries. As the successor to Equinox Software, Inc., Equinox provides exceptional service and technical expertise delivered by experienced librarians and technical staff. Equinox offers affordable, customized consulting services, software development, hosting, training, and technology support for libraries of all sizes and types.
To learn more, please visit https://www.equinoxOLI.org
To learn more, please visit https://www.equinoxOLI.org
This guide was created using SubjectsPlus, an open source content management system for information sharing. Interested in how SubjectsPlus could benefit your organization? Learn more by visiting us at: https://www.equinoxoli.org/products/subjectsplus.
To assist with planning for an upgrade, lists are provided to offer a summary of the new features included in each release and the default nature of their availability. Many features in new releases are optional. Some are enabled by the addition of new staff permission groups or new library settings. Notes are provided here to indicate whether a new feature is enabled by default and to identify associated configuration details.
PDF version of the consolidated checklists for printing: 3.10 Checklist
PDF version of the consolidated checklists for printing: 3.10 Checklist
|
Module
|
Feature
|
Default Availability
|
|---|---|---|
| Acquisitions |
Additional Acquisitions interfaces ported to Angular (Purchase Orders, Selection Lists, Load MARC Order Records, and Line Item Details) |
Rewritten interfaces ready for use; new Library Settings created for optional functionality |
| Acquisitions | Fund Management Fund Rollover Permission (ADMIN_FUND_ROLLOVER) | Available after upgrade; new permission will be assigned to staff accounts with the existing ADMIN_FUND permission |
| Acquisitions | Advanced Shipment Notices (ASN) | Optional functionality; requires third-party integration |
| Administration | OpenAthens Integration | Optional functionality; requires third-party integration |
| Administration |
Local Administration interfaces ported to Angular (Cash Reports, Library Settings, and Field Documentation) |
Rewritten interfaces ready for use |
| Circulation | New Circulation (Experimental) menu with experimental Angular versions of many circulation interfaces | Experimental and meant for testing only (see lp#1904036); not enabled by default; uses new Library Setting to enable and requires new staff permission to access |
| Circulation | Renewal Due Date Extended to Cover Loss Time | Optional functionality; requires configuration of new circ policy fields |
|
Module
|
Feature
|
Default Availability
|
|---|---|---|
| Administration | Geosort can now use Bing Maps API | Optional functionality; requires configuration |
| Administration | Hours of Operation Note Field (for split hours) | Available after upgrade for optional utilization |
| Administration | Allow Circ Renewal after reaching Fine Maximum | Available after upgrade for optional utilization with a new library setting; not enabled by default |
| Administration | Option to Remove Traditional Catalog from Menu | Available after upgrade; new Library Setting will hide in menu by default |
| Administration | Display full Library Name in Org Unit Selector (instead of library short (policy) name) | Available after upgrade for optional utilization; controlled by new Workstation Setting |
| Circulation | Patrons with Negative Balance interface ported to Angular | Rewritten interface ready for use |
| Circulation | Statistical Categories now visible in OPAC | Requires review by System Administrator (sql script provided) |
See Release Notes for full list of Miscellaneous enhancements included in the 3.10 release,